Officer Verner

Posted: May 30, 2015 by writingsprint in Science fiction
Tags: , , ,

Post #6 of the 30-day Mass Effect drabble challenge. Today’s prompt: Udina, Conrad Verner, “touching something you shouldn’t”

“Officer Verner, sky car accident in Zakera ward… Conrad, are you there?”

“Sorry, dispatch. I’m on my way.”

Conrad hitched up the armband he wore: black, with white and red piping on the edge, reminiscent of the N7 colors worn by Commander Shepard. The late Commander Shepard. He’d taken the news of the Normandy’s destruction hard. This was his first day back on the job, and he could barely keep his head on straight.

“C-Sec. Let me through. Excuse me, C-Sec.” A crowd gathered around the car port at the edge of the ward near Sirta Foundation. Conrad nudged past an elcor and a pair of hanar, almost getting tangled in their tentacles, and finally reached the scene. A human stood arguing with another C-Sec officer while another kept the crowd back and a third attended to a woman sitting on the ground. A sky car wedged crookedly between two others, one which was crumpled in the front end. “What’s going on?”

“This is an outrage! I’ve shown you my credentials. Now let me go! I have urgent business at the Citadel tower!”

“Sir, please try to calm down,” Conrad said. He remembered how patient Shepard had been when he’d pressed him for an autograph. Then a picture. Such an idiot…

“I won’t calm down. I don’t answer to you. I said I wanted to speak to someone in charge.”

“I’m the watch officer, sir. If you’ll just cooperate—”

“I have a meeting with the turian ambassador!”

“I’ll go with you, then. I can take your statement on the way.”

“Ridiculous!”

Shepard would focus. “Sir. Even diplomats are accountable to the law.”

“Diplomat!” The man slapped his fingers disdainfully across Conrad’s badge. “You’re talking to—”

Conrad had his arm behind his back in the blink of an eye. Then the other. Then the cuffs. “A suspect. I’m sorry, sir, but you’re going to miss your meeting. You might want to use your vid call to let him know.”

The other officers goggled at him. Some of the aliens in the crowd applauded. It felt right to Conrad. Shepard would have done the same.

Comments
  1. Vorcha Girl says:

    Awsome! This was great writing and a hilarious concept!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steve Wengraitis says:

    I would’ve read this, but wanted to come up with my own ideas for whatever Drabble I write

    >

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

