That Time of the Month

Posted: May 24, 2015 by writingsprint in Science fiction
Tags: , , ,

“Alenko. It’s good to see you again.” Feron’s voice overflowed with disdain. Kaidan smirked. The drell looked healthier than Kaidan’s last visit. Color in his cheeks. Eyes dark and shiny. Kaidan wasn’t sure that was a good thing.

That time of the month again. Shepard insisted that they pick up intelligence from Feron face to face, to maintain security. Kaidan understood. He didn’t have to like the job.

“Feron. What do you have for us?”

“Blue Suns raiding eezo mines in the Traverse. Here are the locations.” Feron handed Kaidan a data chip. Kaidan scanned the chip. Feron folded his arms. “You don’t trust me.”

“Shepard and Liara trust you. That’s good enough,” Kaidan said.

“Cagey as ever. I miss our conversations when you’re not here.”

Kaidan’s skin crawled. “What are the Suns after, other than eezo?”

“If I knew, I would have told you.”

Kaidan’s sigh burned the back of his throat. Any angrier and his dark energy aura would glow. “Feron, Liara can do the most good with us.”

“You don’t know me at all,” Feron hissed.

Kaidan put his hand on his shoulder. “The mission’s more important. You can’t let your feelings blind you.” Like Kaidan had done on Horizon. The memory of how he’d acted still sickened him.

Feron pushed Kaidan’s hand away. “Just keep her safe.”

“I’ll tell her you miss her.”

“I didn’t say that.”

“Not in so many words.”

Kaidan walked away. Feron didn’t thank him, or wish him well. There was always next month.

I haven’t been writing my daily 400, so I thought I’d get back to it with something more bite-sized. This is post #1 of a 30-day Mass Effect “drabble” challenge. Wiki defines a “drabble” as a short work of fiction around a hundred words in length. My first lesson learned is that drabbles are harder to write than I thought. The word count on this one is twice as high as it should be!

What do you think?

