Embers

Posted: March 27, 2015 by writingsprint in Fun Stuff
Tags: , ,

1,557 words tonight. I’m caught up and 63 words ahead of goal. Yay! The caper wrapped up and now we’re dealing with aftermath.

Lesson #1 for doing Nanowrimo: write your face off. Describe settings in detail. And characters. Wander. Try out ideas. Backtrack. Hop. Skip. Jump. Did I say wander? Otherwise, unless you have a rock-solid plan to write, or you have a talent for free writing, you’ll run out of gas halfway through or sooner.

Lesson #2: Even if the scene isn’t what you thought, the essence of it, your desire to write it, is burned in behind the words. You’ll kindle those embers when you edit it later. I’m finding that what I thought were holes in my story weren’t holes at all–they were undeveloped ideas that I’d refused to explore because I couldn’t see them working. Want to go for a swim? Dive in. Yes, I’m going to have to rewrite this entire thing later. So what. DIVE. IN.

Lesson #3: Discovering a character isn’t about getting inside their heads. It’s about letting them inside yours. (I’ve tacked this one up on my wall.)

Comments
  1. Steve says:

    Terrific advice!! Thank you!

    Like

    • Thanks!!!!! The one about discovering characters blew me away. I’ve been trying to write one of them the way I wanted to, but as I dove in I realized she had more to tell me about what it felt like being her than the other way around. If that makes any sense.

      Like

What do you think?

