Side Note on “the Process”

Posted: February 28, 2015 by writingsprint in Writing
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes writing is like falling in love. It just happens and the words flow the wine.

Other times it’s like digging a ditch. It won’t dig itself. It isn’t fun. Staring at the ground and waiting for the ditch to dig itself won’t work. Getting yourself into the right mood to dig the ditch only works so well. Sooner or later, you have to just pick up the shovel and dig.

I finally bit that shovel into the earth today. Now it’s time to go to bed. I wish I didn’t have to sleep! I’m finally making progress! Not much of what I wrote was creative, but a start’s a start and I’ll take it. Tomorrow I have job-work to do, as opposed to writing-work, not to mention groceries and other household stuff, so I don’t know how much writing will happen.

Maybe I can do some writing “out loud” while I run the other errands.

Comments
  1. winterbayne says:

    Right now, every day is ditch digging day for me. I don’t enjoy writing, but I like having written.

    Liked by 1 person

    • WOW. Now that’s one bear of a contrast. I don’t know if I could handle that. I like both but sometimes it’s the “labor of love.” There’s a loving dent on my desk from all the times I’ve been banging my head against it lately. Your post about outlining may have given me a way out, though.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

