Staggering down the Home Stretch

Posted: November 24, 2014 by writingsprint in Nanowrimo
Tags: , , ,

Vance Sedrin was a balding, elderly man with a Greek accent. He was a true gentleman if you ignored that he also trafficked in slavery. His weapons were high end, sometimes the kind that were still on controlled access lists.

1,031 words today. That’s 636 words below goal. I spent a good chunk of the night writing 760 more words that were soul searching on who Risha is and where she’s going. It doesn’t make it into the story so it doesn’t count. The good news is I’ve figured a few things out. Next, I need to work out how that will unwind in the story. And the next one. And the next.

When I said I’d write the novel in 100-word pieces if I had to, man, I wasn’t kidding. Spilling out words night after night without research to frame it is slowing me down. I’m going to give everyone a heads-up now: when Nano is done, I’m going to keep blogging progress on the novel rather than new fiction pieces, which may or may not add up to 400 words in the posts themselves. There’s research to be done, books to read, libraries to sit in and storylines to organize.

Weird research of the day: Santorini, Corfu, and Brindisi, because I needed a colorful merchant city, and a gallery of international arms dealers, because I needed one of those, too.

What do you think?

