Getting to Know You

Posted: November 22, 2014 by writingsprint in Nanowrimo
Tags: , , , ,

Dreams take a long time to die, especially in the young.

A little over 2,000 words today, and almost 38,000 words done. It sounds like a lot but I still have 12,000 to go, which is a full third of what I’ve done already.

I think most of the words I’ve written today and probably those I’ll write tomorrow won’t make it into the finished book. I need to know Risha better. I know she’s a princess and a crook, but at the end of the day I need to know more about where she’s going. To do that I need to know what’s driving her. What she wants to make happen, not just as a series of actions she needs to do. It’s like the difference between dancing with someone you feel passionately about versus dancing and stepping on cardboard feet on the floor. I got to know her better as a ten-year-old, just after her exile, and a little better as an adult. We need more.

Complaint of the night: what the hell is up with Mac OS Yosemite? The file I was using five minutes ago doesn’t show up in the “Recents” list in Microsoft Word. Grrr.

Weird research of the day: missing items from the US National Archives.

What do you think?

