100 Words at a Time, If I Have To

Posted: November 17, 2014 by writingsprint in Nanowrimo
Tags: , , , , ,

Rochefort waved his hand and threw Gruber across the chamber. The man landed with a thud of flesh and bone wrapped in soft silk slapping against marble. His skull bounced off the floor. It nearly concussed him. Gruber coughed. He started to get up, when he felt steel talons the size of his arms wrap around his body and lift him into the air. Gruber cried out.

Obviously, Rochefort’s name has to change. “Rochefort” is based on Michael Wincott’s chilling, brilliant portrayal of captain Rochefort in Disney’s 1993 rendition of The Three Musketeers. “Gruber” is based on Alan Rickman’s charming, evil Hans Gruber from the first Die Hard movie. I needed a scary bad guy and a smart bad guy, and those are two of my favorites. This is how my pop culture brain works.

2,000-ish words today, which is the most I’ve done in a while. Today’s writing was a collection of scenes: Gruber’s nasty end; finishing up the scene where Risha and Raffa plan their gig; a scene where Raffa’s best friend asks him if he’s falling for Risha; and a scene where Raffa gives Risha a gift, because, yes, he is falling for her.

I could only do the gig planning in rough terms because I don’t want to spoil what’s actually going to happen for the reader. I wrote the others based on as much as I knew about them. I have a feeling that a lot of my Nano writing is going to be like this from here. Much of the story is only conceptual, so I’m going to spend a lot of time having fun playing with ideas at this point, even if it’s only in 100-word chunks.

Weird research of the day:
The Star Wars Random Name Generator — today I pulled 100 female names
A Google search on cigar scents
What does bergamot smell like?
What does cardamom smell like?
What’s the effective range of an AK-74?

Bonus: a phenomenal Mass Effect 2 fan trailer 🙂 ! The artist caught the spirit of the game. Even better, he used footage of Seth Green and Yvonne Strahovksi, actors from the game, and great shots of others to make it look like a live-action movie.

Comments
  1. […] I said I’d write the novel in 100-word pieces if I had to, man, I wasn’t kidding. Spilling out words night after night without research to […]

    Like

What do you think?

