I’m a Writer, Not a Psycho

Posted: November 13, 2014 by writingsprint in Nanowrimo
Tags: , , , , ,

Thought for the Day: Other than a writer, who Googles “how to kill someone quietly with a knife“? And reads more than one article on the subject matter?

Yeah. Creepy. I also Googled “USMC manual knife fighting” but didn’t find anything other than general principles.

I’m up to 19,669 words, almost caught up on where I need to be. It’s been a tough couple of days. Work has been busy and last night I had choir practice with our local church, which ate up time I’d love to have for writing. (I did the knife fighting research after practice, by the way.)

Two days ago I wrote a scene involving a betrayal, where all I knew was that one of Risha’s gigs went bad and someone paid the price. I didn’t know the gig, where it happened or who they were robbing. So, like any Nano session, I winged it. Oy. It’ll get better during editing. Last night’s scene involved revealing the story’s big bad guy. That went well. I did notice that most of my scenes have been action. They’re easy to do and they’re necessary for the story, but I’m not getting much character development in. I think the next few scenes I write will be romantic or just “getting-to-know-you” scenes.

Comments
  1. […] Daily 400 just had a charming post about the things authors research even though they aren’t serial killers. He’s also been updating his blog with his word counts and doing a phenomenal […]

    Like

What do you think?

