The Nuts and Bolts of a Scene

Posted: November 4, 2014 by writingsprint in Nanowrimo
Tags: , , ,

Only 834 words today, 6,078 total, which puts me 600 words behind where I need to be. Tonight was our local writers group meeting. I hadn’t been to see them in months. It was great to see everybody again and hear what people are working on. One of the assistant librarians is in college, working, and doing Nanowrimo. I feel like a slacker.

I did do some research on scene writing, since that’s been my biggest challenge in my daily work.

The nuts and bolts of a scene: the goal, the conflict, and a disaster to keep things interesting, followed by a reaction, a dilemma, and a decision in the scene that follows it.

The scribble approach: I’ve been spending too much time just writing scenes, as opposed to percolating them in my head and playing with them ahead of time.

And “emotioneering” — techniques for making people emotionally invested in your scene. Put the main character in peril. Give them an unfulfilled wish. What’s next, wounded pets?

I will say that the nuts and bolts approach gave me something to wrap my brain around as a I worked on tonight’s scene.

Comments
  1. Great post on scenes–short, sweet, and to the point Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

