Nanowrimo Day 1

Posted: November 1, 2014 by writingsprint in Nanowrimo, Science fiction
Tags: , , ,

Risha paced the cargo bay. The heels of her boots clacked against the concrete floor, blending into the distant sounds of heavy lift equipment and engines firing. Her long coat swept against the backs of her legs, feeling heavy because of the extra ammunition she had stuffed into the pockets. You couldn’t be too careful.

Last night I was up until 2:30 in the morning finishing Mass Effect 3 so that it wouldn’t get in the way of my Nano writing. Cool game. Interesting ending. I’ve been reading what other fans have thought of it, and I have to agree that it’s fertile ground for the writers among us to ask, “Well, how would you have done it?”

After a much-needed four-hour nap after helping the plumber winterize our sprinkler system, I cranked through 1,377 words today. That puts the total at 1,933 so far — 67 below goal for day 1, even with my head start. I’m not firing on all cylinders, though, and tomorrow I won’t be recovering from a video game coma. They were 1,377 good, thoughtful words, too, not the dashing ahead with wild abandon that I did in my first Nano. I know that’s not how you’re supposed to play the game, but hey, that’s how I’m rolling. At least for now.

A few thoughts on day 1:

I need to find name generators for science fiction planets, drugs, characters, places, things like that. For now I’m putting in names that I can use as inspiration and highlighting them so that I remember to go back and change them later.

For now, I’m not worried about writing a woman as a main character. In our first scene, we get to know Risha as a cool customer. Confidence isn’t gender-specific. It does worry me that my main characters tend to be cool, in control, noticing fine details, as a general rule. I need to take an acting class and cut loose. I mean, granted, Risha is a cool customer, but she’s also a free spirit and I want that to come through. Think music. How are things moving together.

Some little secrets and plot threads have already started to come to the surface. I’m going to fall every last one of them and see where they lead. I’ve also made the blank wall next to our washer and dryer the official post-it wall for ideas.

I’m going to make the story as cohesive as possible, but if I have days where all I’m doing is writing scenes where I thought, “Hey, that would be cool,” then that’s what I’m doing.

My goal is to reach 60,000 words. I may only reach 50,000 words. Either way, my real goal is to commit myself to doing this thing and giving it a solid start.

Special thanks to Alex Grover for giving me ideas on how to blog about the novel’s progress!

Comments
  1. grovewriter says:

    Awesome work! I can’t wait to read the rest of your updates! NaNoRealGood 🙂

    Like

  2. Great work. Do you think you will publish you work when it is done?

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

