And So It Begins

Posted: October 26, 2014 by writingsprint in Fun Stuff
Tags: , , ,

I wrote a total of 1,281 words tonight, not counting this post — planning for Nanowrimo, National Novel Writing Month, which will hit in six days. I don’t know what if anything I’ll be able to post here while I’m working on it. Most of it will be summaries of how it’s going and the challenges I’m facing. I’ll do what I can to keep it interesting. If all goes well, I’ll be completely buried in the worlds and characters I’m creating and the daily posts won’t even scratch the surface.

The story is called “The Lost Princess,” and it’s the first book in my version of Risha’s story from Dubrillion Burning. We see her sent into exile as a child. She learns to survive and nurture her inner badass. As she comes into her own, she takes steps to retake her throne. I’m not too hot on the title but the story will tell me what that is. No worries there.

Tonight I wrote down 30 or 40 scene ideas that I came up with a few weeks ago. They’re a collection of scenes I’d like to see in the story. Some of them are based on ideas for the plot. Others are inspired from songs and scenes from movies or TV shows. Even quotes. One of my favorites is “Fire and Rage.” I don’t know what the scene looks like but I can’t wait to find out.

Then I took a movie that I thought expressed similar themes for this story, and I wrote down a quick list of every scene in the movie. imdb.com is a beautiful thing. Mine won’t be the same structure. I’m not completely shameless 🙂 . There’s a saying: steal from the best, but make it your own. I’m going to take a good look at something someone did very, very well, and use it as inspiration for my own. That’s what I’m doing here. The movie is a story of a young hero taking his place on the stage where he belongs. His journey is darker than he imagined. That’s Risha’s story, too. She’s walking into a blackening storm.

If you want to track my progress in Nanowrimo, my ID is mattsd454. Happy writing!

What do you think?

