Soon on Smashwords

Posted: September 14, 2014 by writingsprint in Writing
Tags: , ,

writing couch

Today I spent a few hours working on formatting Shadow and Shade for Smashwords! If all goes well, soon all you readers on Nook and other devices will be able to enjoy it, too!

They have a fun feature for the author profile: ready-made “interview” questions. You can provide answers for up to ten. So far I’ve done four. Inspired by Winter’s post that I reblogged, I may put some of these on my “About” page!

Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?

I grew up in Philadelphia, just on the edge of the city. I loved dogs growing up, and ghost stories, and the idea of wolves howling on a dark night always captured my imagination. I was a shy kid and spent most of my time with a nose in a book. Fantasy novels and science fiction were my favorites.

After two years of trying to make my high school’s cross country team, they let me on because I just wouldn’t go away. It changed me more than I ever thought it would. Running in parks alongside creeks gave me my first taste of what the world had really been like before we were surrounded by tech. Then, when I went to college, I tried karate, and the meditation and sweat of slow kata made me imagine worlds inside, too. The wolves, the woods, and the sweat, and how they’re all part of the same thing, are where I found Shadow and Shade.

When did you first start writing?

The first story I ever wrote was in the summer after sophomore year of high school: a full-blown science fiction novel. I sat in my dad’s creaky old desk chair by the window on many summer days and wrote page after page in longhand. By the time it was done, I got the girl and had saved the world. I was so embarrassed at the idea that anyone would ever read it that I threw out each page as I wrote it.

What’s the story behind your latest book?

I tell people that Shadow and Shade is a story about witches, wolves, and growing up. It’s also about intolerance, addiction, and what happens when people no longer trust each other.

It came about after three or four fitful attempts at writing a fantasy epic. I realized that I didn’t want to read another epic, and I couldn’t relate to the wizards in pointy hats, the noble warriors, and the plucky, brave heroes that rose to the occasion. When I imagined how I would re-invent wizards, I pictured a sweaty young man in the woods wearing camouflage, having a hard time levitating a chunk of wood.

I knew there had to be wolves. We’re all animals. Nature is where we connect to our deepest selves. The other characters and conflicts were a mix of growing pains that I’d known in my own life and some of the people who had been characters in that play. It’s an amazing thing when “the people you know now” meet “the people you knew then” and you imagine the drama play out.

What inspires you to get out of bed each day?

The idea that there’s something neat going on out there that I want to check out. For me every day’s an adventure. Don’t get me wrong, it’s the suburban kind of adventure, but it’s mine and I love it. I’m the optimistic type. Every day is new and anything’s possible. I work for a company that helps people work together better, not just in the productive way but as better human beings. As a writer I get to explore all the things that make people tick. Or sometimes I just write something goofy. I like yoga, volleyball, and other exercise. That makes a cool combination of pushing limits while being thoughtful and taking care of myself at the same time. Life is too cool to miss.

What are you working on next?

I’m working on a science fiction trilogy about an exiled princess and her path to reclaiming her throne. Her friends may have stories of their own to tell, too. Of course, along the way I’ll be trying out new things and writing on the blog.

Photo credit: “written in slumber” by matryosha on Flickr
Photo is unmodified
Shared under Creative Commons license

What do you think?

