Meet the Scene Wall

Posted: August 28, 2014 by writingsprint in Dubrillion Burning, Science fiction, Writing
Tags: , , ,

Before I do tonight’s post — which is going to be a stream of consciousness on the mermaid story — I wanted to show you why things have been rather hit or miss around here lately.

It’s all Dubrillion Burning‘s fault.

manuscript

This is everything that you’ve read here, in the order that you’ve read it. It comes to about seventy pages single-spaced with skipped lines between paragraphs, because I copied the content straight off the blog.

scene wall

Meet the scene wall. There are about seventy more pages here. Past and future scenes where I’ve jumped out of order, ideas, research topics, and other bits and pieces from all three books hang where I can see them and figure out what to do with them. In a notebook I have a road map of how it all comes together.

You’ll notice I’m using old fancy stationery for printing drafts. Paper’s expensive!

miscellaneous

And then there’s about 10-15 pages of miscellaneous scenes, lines, bits and ideas that don’t have a home yet. So, all told, I’ve written about 150 pages, and I’ve barely gotten started.

Other than the occasional scene or short story about a modern mermaid that I write to take a break, many of my 400 words a day are going to be “for my eyes only” for a while. I’ll keep you posted and try to keep you entertained as we go along.

Comments
  1. winterbayne says:

    I have a scene mirror in the bathroom. Did you know you can scribble notes on it with dry erase markers 😉

    Like

  2. […] spent about an hour today working on organizing the “miscellaneous” pages for the novel. I swear there are more than […]

    Like

What do you think?

