Politics of Dubrillion, Part I: Background

Posted: July 7, 2014 by writingsprint in Dubrillion Burning, Science fiction
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m heading on vacation for two weeks, so I’ve laid out posts that are going to be published automatically while I’m away. “Likes” are always appreciated and I’ll do my best to respond to comments when I get back, but I can’t promise anything. Take care and I’ll see you on the other side!

Post #43 of the Dubrillion Burning series

I’m thinking about the political background that Risha is walking into, where she fits in, and how it all comes together. Spoilers ahead if you plan to play Star Wars: The Old Republic.

Here’s the background from the game.

Risha’s grandfather, Arak Drayen III, was the last of a dynasty of war heroes that ruled the planet Dubrillion. He was overthrown and killed by his nobles for reasons that aren’t described. The game paints him as a harsh, cruel king. We don’t get to see his son, but we assume he escaped and fathered Nok Drayen, who became a legendary crime lord during the war between the Sith Empire and the Republic which precedes the game. Risha is Nok’s daughter, and spent her youth becoming a criminal mastermind while dreaming of returning to Dubrillion’s throne. She lives in hiding, because the usurper wants to stamp out the Drayen family line.

Fast forward through the game: Risha meets Raffa (that’s what I named my “smuggler” character), a fast-shooting, fast-talking, hell on hyperjets charmer and free trader, who becomes the most daring and successful privateer in the Republic. As I see it, while he’s doing that, Risha makes connections with Alderaan royalty, captains of Corellian industry, Jedi and members of the Republic senate, positioning herself to return to the throne.

Enter Count Merritt Rinald — it’s actually “Rineld,” but I’ll keep my spelling for now. Rinald is the most popular noble on Dubrillion, where the king has become very un-popular. He’s apparently losing his sense of reason. My thought is that, besides old age and too many lifespan extension treatments, he’s been obsessed with killing Risha ever since she let it be known that she’s still alive. She’s foiled multiple attempts on her life. The king’s power base is unstable. Rinald believes that Dubrillion would rally behind a return of the Drayen dynasty. She needs to join the aristocracy, so he offers her his hand in marriage. She says yes.

This is where I pick up the story. Brainstorming follows.

What I don’t like about this is that Risha is important because Dubrillion will rally behind a return to the last dynasty. Risha is a symbol and that’s all. Unacceptable. So let’s turn the problem on its head. Risha isn’t an outsider looking for a claim to the throne — Risha is the one who has the BEST claim to the throne. Nobody has a lawful claim to the throne EXCEPT Risha. That’s what makes her so dangerous to the current king.

Continued Wednesday in Part II: Path to the Throne.

Comments
  1. A.D. Everard says:

    This sounds BRILLIANT!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

