You’re Never Too Old

Posted: July 1, 2014 by writingsprint in Drama
Tags: , , , , , , ,

koi tattooToday’s Daily Prompt, “Back of the Queue,” asks what we’ve always wanted to do, but haven’t done yet, and why. I guess mine has to be “get a tattoo.” I never could imagine an image that I felt passionate enough about to put it in ink on my body. I’ve solved that one. There are some very cool websites that have a broad selection of tattoo artwork, like Bullseye Tattoos.

I’m also skinny, so I was afraid it would look like crap. Finally, I’m on the north side of 40, and I don’t want to feel like I’m getting it to satisfy a midlife crisis.

That said, I still have the money set aside in my budget. Maybe. Just maybe.

On a related note: in 2013, Winifred Turner became the oldest woman in Britain to get a tattoo.

Frank’s face twisted inwards, double whirlpools centered on his eyes, as the tattoo needle worked its way under his skin. A drop of sweat ran down his forehead. His buddy Gus dabbed it away with a handkerchief. “How does it look?” Frank asked.

“Like a fish,” Gus said. He winced. A fish surrounded by a red halo.”

“Halo?” Frank asked.

“Your skin’s red around the artwork. It’s normal,” Beatrice, his artist, told him.

Gus said, “Frank, quit while you’re ahead. It’s only going to look so good. She’s painting artwork on a wrinkled old canvas.”

Frank shook his head. “A goal’s a goal. I put it on the bucket list. I’m crossing it off.”

“You can always rethink those goals,” Gus said.

“I want it. I’m getting it.” He moaned.

“How are you doing there?” Beatrice asked.

“Fine. Keep it going.” Frank chuckled. “Anna said she’d divorce me if I came home with a tattoo.”

“Oh, I’ll do you one better,” they heard from the front of the shop.

Frank sat up, jumping straight into the tattoo gun. He fell forward again. “OW!!!”

“Careful!” Beatrice said. She shook her head. “You just put a mustache on your fish.”

“Anna, is that you?” Frank called.

“Yes, and I’m getting one too,” she said.

“Honey, don’t be silly. You shouldn’t just get one because I am.”

“Who says I am? I always wanted one. I’m getting a little hummingbird on my shoulder.”

Frank turned beet red. He called her his little hummingbird. “I… well… that’s… nice.”

“She’s got good taste, too,” one of the artists called. “She picked the best one in the book.”

Gus nudged Frank. “Do you need to go have a talk with your lady love?”

Frank nudged him back. Jerk. “You stay out of this.”

“Do you want to finish, or what?” Beatrice asked.

Frank lay back down on the couch. Beatrice started up again. Frank let out a long, cooling breath. “Honey, just so you know, it hurts but it’s not too bad.”

Anna came walking into the back room, preceded by Rocky, the owner of the parlor. She smiled and waved at Frank. He winked at her. She said, “Don’t worry about me. I bore our three kids. I can handle this.”

Frank smiled. “I’ve still got motorcycle riding and skydiving on the bucket list. Want to go too?”

“Only if you go surfing with me,” Anna said.

Photo credit: “koi fish” by art dejavu at Flickr
Photo is unmodified
Shared under Creative Commons license

Comments
  1. Erik Conover says:

    Great post. I met an 85 year old man yesterday who gave the best life advice

    http://erikconover.com/2014/06/30/a-place-in-the-sun/

    -Erik

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always said that if I ever get a tattoo it will be either an ‘om’ symbol, or a small hummingbird. My reasons for not doing it yet are similar to yours, lol 🙂

    Like

    • An om / lotus is one of the ones I’m thinking of, because I really enjoy yoga. Esha Deol has a very cool one on her shoulder blade — I found it while Googling “Om lotus tattoo.” There was a good one of a howling wolf that I found at Bullseye, that ties in really well with the novel 🙂 .

      Like

      • I love the lotus, but I thought the om symbol would be great. I think there are a lot of beautiful tattoos, but I don’t know if I would have the nerve to actually get one 🙂

        Like

  3. […] Pyett Illustration scares me: the black & white hole If I Could Start One New Thing… The Daily 400 You’re Never Too Old A Midnight Blog Back of the Queue – “Donations, Donations!” Nilesh Prajapati Learning […]

    Like

What do you think?

