It’s Not the Same without Lightsabers

Posted: June 27, 2014 by writingsprint in Essay
Tags: , , ,

So lately I’ve been thinking about taking the Star Wars fan fiction that I’m working on, changing the names of all the characters, getting rid of the lightsabers, and turning it into its own, original, standalone story. When it gets to the point that you’re doing research, trying to polish it up, and wrestling with the story from different angles, you’re past just doing something for fun. It’s veering into “labor of love.” When you look back and realize that you’ve put over 16,000 words into it, and the story’s only just begun, you have to ask yourself: should I be working on something of my own?

Would you write a novel just for fun? Never to have it be published?

I might. At least for now. It’s difficult to let go. Cartog, Jeana and Raffa are like friends of mine. I invented them, if not their Old Republic stories. I didn’t invent Risha, but changing her name feels like asking a friend to call herself by another name because otherwise you can’t get into a party. Jeana just wouldn’t be the same without a lightsaber.

All true. I talked about this with a close friend, who responded that “Fifty Shades of Grey” started out as Twilight fan fiction. I’m not writing “Fifty Shades of Star Wars,” but I get the point.

The other day I was thinking about this in my car. “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons came on — Jeana’s “end credits” music — followed by “Heroes” by David Bowie. I thought, don’t mess with the mojo. This isn’t about being published. It’s about a story that I want to write. The most important thing a writer can do is be true to their characters. If this turns into another story, another universe, that’s one thing, but for now, this is their story and I’m telling it how it is.

What do you think? Am I nuts, or does this resonate with you too?

Comments
  1. A.D. Everard says:

    Totally resonates with me.

    I only ever write for myself. In the beginning, I only ever wanted to tell the story. I expected it to be published eventually, but it was never about that. It was always (and still is) about the story.

    And look what I’ve got now! 😀 You have to be true to your own heart because when you are, you will produce the best you ever can – then you look around and think, “Heck! I’ve got something people want to read!” And they will!

    If you don’t absolutely love and adore the things you write, how will anyone else?

    Follow your heart – you bet. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I agree with everything you said. You have to love what you write. You owe it to yourself and the story. I’m either going to learn some amazing things through this big learning process, or I’ll be inspired to do something amazing when it’s all done. And the story’s going to be a good one, too.

      Like

  2. […] Dubrillion Burning, and especially those who expressed their support after I posted “It’s Not the Same Without Lightsabers,” I wanted to let you know that a muse whispered in my ear the other […]

    Like

What do you think?

