What Keeps You Up at Night?

Posted: June 23, 2014 by writingsprint in Fantasy
Tags: , , ,

Tower of Hanoi

This post is inspired by the Daily Prompt “Sleepy Time”: “What are the nighttime rituals that keep you up before finally dozing off?”

The two things that keep me up at night are work and blogging. DVR lets me watch TV on my own time, and if I’ve managed my time well enough that I’m reading before bed, I’m on schedule, not staying up past my bedtime. Work is work. When there’s a deadline, I get it done. Blogging always takes longer than I wish it did. If I didn’t love it so much, I might actually do something about it.

Wallace moved the last ring into place for the second tower. He wished for sleep. He hadn’t sleep in two years. Or eaten. He didn’t know if he was still alive or just in Hell.

In front of him was the finest set of the Towers of Hanoi ever crafted. The disks were made of wafer-thin gold. The sticks were made of the bones of kings. Wallace had tried to steal the towers. He couldn’t cross the threshold of the door. A thousand times, he’d tried. Then a monk had shown up on the other side of the door. When he moved the tower to the end, his penance was over.

Time to start on the last movement. No point in complaining. The disks wouldn’t move themselves.

What do you think?

