The Book Blogger Test

Posted: June 13, 2014 by writingsprint in Essay, My two cents
Tags: , , , , , ,

books-that-is-exactly-how-they-workA fun little survey about books and you. Special thanks to Jodie Llewellyn for posting this on her blog and Brin Guivera, from whom Jodie found it in the first place.

What are your top three book pet hates?

1. Information dumps. I appreciate all the research that you did and all the planning that you did, Mr. or Ms. Author, but only tell as me as much as I need, when I need it. Take me away from the action with a page of exposition and all I’ll do is skip past it.

2. Characters who are idiots. I can live with characters undone by their egos, but even then, they should have good ideas that are undone by better ideas.

3. Rambling plots. That’s why I never started reading some fantasy series, when other readers told me that they just wouldn’t end. I’ll read a long series if I know that the author has an end game, but if they’re just picking my pocket to sell books, that’s disrespecting me as a reader.

Describe your perfect reading spot.

My favorite, ever, was sitting on a porch back in college, in a house at the top of a hill where I could watch the sun set. I sat there every night, reading and writing until the sun went down.

Tell us three book confessions.

Three? I have no idea. You already know that I write fan fictions, which means I’m a sucker for good stuff that other people write. Let’s see…

Here’s a good one. The first story that I ever wrote was a fan fiction about the original miniseries V. I put myself into the story, of course. I was so afraid that someone would read it that I threw out each page as I wrote it.

The first young adult book I ever read was Henry Reed’s Journey, and to this day I don’t know whether my sense of humor was already there or whether I adopted Henry’s as I read the book.

I’m a book hoarder. Letting me walk into a book store with cash is a very dangerous thing. I probably have thirty books waiting to be read.

When was the last time you cried during a book?

I haven’t when I’ve read them. I cried while writing this scene a few months ago.

How many books are on your bedside table?

One. There are four or five on my Kindle app, too.

What is your favourite snack to eat while you’re reading?

I don’t snack while reading. I usually read right before bed.

Name three books you would recommend to everyone

Fahrenheit 451. My favorite book of all time. It’s intense, passionate, vivid, mind-blowing, sincere, and close to the heart. You’ll want to read or write after it’s done.

Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone. A delight. You’ll remember how it feels to be a child who believes in magic — which is even more rich than being an adult who believes in magic.

The Old Man and the Sea. An intimate portrayal a man as he faces himself and nature. I like to imagine that Hemingway had a close friend like the old man and wanted to write a story that was a love note to their friendship. I’m not even a Hemingway fan — I didn’t like A Farewell to Arms — but I love this book.

Show us a picture of your favourite bookshelf on your bookcase.

Here you go.

bookcase

From left to right:
Shadow of a Dark Queen by Raymond E. Feist
Timeline by Michael Crichton
Spooky Maryland by S.E. Schlosser
Agatha H. and the Airship City by Phil and Katja Foglio
Haunts by Stephen Jones
Never Cry Wolf by Farley Mowat
Secret Go the Wolves by R.D. Lawrence
The Zombie Survival Guide and World War Z by Max Brooks
The Last Apocalypse and Warriors of God by James Reston
Life in a Medieval City by Joseph and Frances Gies
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Paranormal by David Borgensicht and Ben H. Winters
The Black Company, Shadows Linger, and The White Rose by Glen Cook
V by A.C. Crispin
Death Star by Michael Reaves and Steve Perry
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
The Star Wars and Empire Strikes Back sketchbooks by Joe Johnston
The Art of Star Wars by Jonathan Bresman
Anomaly by Skip Brittenham and Brian Haberlin
The Little Giant Encyclopedia of Superstitions by The Diagram Group

Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

Living other lives.

What is your biggest reading secret?

I want to read more poetry. This is new, and I haven’t had a chance to move on it yet with all the other reading I need to catch up on. Poets capture passion and life in a tiny space of words. I would love to write moments that make readers’ eyes pop.

Because prose makes an impression, but it doesn’t sound as good as this!


“Books: that is exactly how they work” used without permission.

Comments
  1. wefalllaughing says:

    Love these questions and your answers. I am a compulsive reader so I can relate to many of your thoughts. And I happened to love V as a kid too!

    Like

    • Thank you! We always read before going to sleep. You should take the survey too 🙂 ! And V was mind-blowing to me. Sure, it had plenty of action, but I’d never seen a story other than War of the Worlds where we were so completely at a loss to fight the aliens. Then the paranoia and the subjugation. It was a completely different spin on science fiction adventure from what I was used to. I thought Ann Crispin did a phenomenal job with the novelization, giving the story depth it hadn’t had before.

      Like

  2. I just updated the post to let people know what books are on the shelf, in case anyone’s interested 🙂 .

    Like

  3. winterbayne says:

    I’m doing this later this week. I enjoyed yours so much, because I can relate to almost everything.
    I was so afraid that someone would read it that I threw out each page as I wrote it. I did this until about two years ago.
    I’ve got you beat on the TBR list (as in books I’ve bought but have yet to read).
    And your three books to recommend…well, I’m going to have to pick three different books now.

    Like

    • That fear of other people reading your stuff is the worst. That might be first big challenge we have to overcome as writers.

      My list may be a little longer but not by much. Well, you’re not alone, dude.

      🙂 or use the same three books and write down your unique reasons why!

      Like

  4. winterbayne says:

    Pssst…e.e. cummings is my fav poet.

    Like

    • Thanks for the tip! I remember liking some of cummings’ work in school. I was thinking of starting with Walt Whitman… I’m embarrassed to say it’s because they used some of his poetry for an Apple commercial.

      Like

  5. […] found this list through Matt Gerrard’s blog, and after looking at his links to other people who have filled it out as well it would seem this […]

    Like

  6. Christina ~ says:

    “They” say that you can really know a lot about a person based on which books they read. Personally, I just love reading about how other people *feel* about reading…whether it’s a casual pastime or a downright obsession. As for myself, I fall into the latter category.

    I just wanted to say hi, let you know how much I enjoyed virtually meeting you through your answers, also share how much I *loved* that video! Would you mind if I used it sometime? A bit presumptuous of me perhaps…this being my first visit here and after leaving an overly long comment. I’m normally not quite so verbose…honest…

    Like

    • Hello! It’s very nice to meet you too! That video’s a favorite. It really says it all. Please do use it. This is the internet, so if it’s neat or interesting and not tied down we’re all sharing it with each other. Spread the word! The poet’s name is Mark Grist. I just gave a small donation to a Kickstarter campaign so that he and a friend of his can make three more videos.

      🙂 your words seemed to be right from the heart, so it didn’t seem overly long at all.

      Like

What do you think?

