A Million What?

Posted: June 7, 2014 by writingsprint in Drama, My two cents
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

girl on bike tourToday’s Daily Post prompt is, “You just inherited $1,000,000 from an aunt you didn’t even know existed. What’s the first thing you buy (or otherwise use the money for)?” Realistically, I would invest it all and live off the interest, turning my energies toward writing full-time and teaching yoga part-time. I might even work toward teaching writing.

If not that, I would keep half and donate the rest to:

Greenpeace – Because they’re trying to save the world.

Amnesty International – Because they’re trying to save people who can’t save themselves.

World Wildlife Federation – Because they’re trying to save animals, who can’t save themselves.

The Helen Woodward Animal Center in Rancho Santa Fe, California – People helping animals, animals helping people. I volunteered in their riding therapy department a long time ago, and was blown away by the good that they do.

The Stuttering Foundation of America – This one’s personal to me because I had a horrible stutter growing up. Have you ever seen A Fish Called Wanda, or The King’s Speech? Stuttering can cripple a child’s social skills. The good news is that it’s eminently treatable, and speech therapists can work wonders. To me they’re life savers.

Here’s what someone else might do:


The bank manager smiled at Anna. She said, “Look at all those zeroes. I’ve never seen so many on a personal account.”

“I’m shaking.” Anna held out her hand. The manager handed Anna a new debit card. “I can use this anywhere in the world?”

“Anywhere. If you need help, you have my personal number.”

Anna stood up. They shook hands. “Thank you so much.”

“Best of luck to you.”

Anna picked up her backpack. Her dog Rags wagged his tail as he got up. “Are you ready, big guy? Are you ready?” He barked. “Let’s go.”

Anna walked outside. Around her, busy businesspeople and their customers wove up and down the sidewalk, most of them oblivious to what a beautiful day it was. Anna noticed the people who did. She smiled at them. She had sold everything she owned except for what she could fit in her pack and on her body. The plan was to see the world on foot where she could, by boat or plane where she had to, until the money ran out, and write about the experience. Her heart felt like the sun beating in her chest.

Rags hopped into the cart that she towed behind her bike. He knew the drill. Anna took a long look at all 45 pounds of him. She was going to have thunder thighs before her walkabout was over. “Where should we go first, honey?” she asked him. He barked again.

“West? I think you’re right.” She scratched his ears. He lay down in the cart. Time to go.

Anna started pedaling.

Photo credit: “Birthday Girl” by Amsterdamized at Flickr
Photo is unmodified
Shared under Creative Commons license

Comments
  1. tnkerr says:

    I like this take on the prompt. Very nice indeed.

    Like

    • Thank you! My thought process took some funny turns. Invest it? Boring. Donations? Better, but it’s not great fiction. Taking a bike ride with your dog around the world? Now you’re talking!

      Like

  2. A.D. Everard says:

    Sorry, mate, you lost me on the first one and the third. They are NOT what you think! I don’t trust any of them now and never will again. The last two are good, though, or better still follow your first suggestion and live your dream.

    😀

    Like

    • Hmm. I’ll do some digging on them, then. The last is definitely the one I’d love to do, and if I had no fear i’d be the one I would do.

      Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        I am heavily into blog news – not television or newspapers. The propaganda-feed to the masses is amazing. Blogsville is where to go.

        If you want science – with data and links – social impact and exposure of the fear-mongering and alarmism, check out http://wattsupwiththat.com/ Anthony and others posts six to eight times every day, covering all aspects of climate-change/global warming/alarmists scams. Enter Greenpeace or WWF into the search box and you’ll find the low-down on them.

        You also might also want to search the site for “Agenda 21” – it will scare the pants off you. There are people out there who want to take what the Nazis did to the Jews and do it the world over. The UN is behind it and they need the alarm to push for communism. A man called Maurice Strong figured out the only way to deindustrialize the world is to attack civilization. He likened civilization to an engine and figured the way to stop it is to A: Cut the fuel going in – yes, oil, coal, petrol, etc., and B: Demonize the exhaust – CO2.

        It’s all done for population control. I could go on and on, but I better not. 🙂

        The whole shebang is coming unravelled and I am glued to WUWT for big chunks of every day because that’s where the action is.

        WUWT is the most viewed website on climate change and currently sits at ◾189,107,751 views (I just copied their hits to date from their site – that’s right, 189 million views).

        You also learn lovely things there, such as there being no warming at all for the last 17 years.

        Anyhow – this comment has nothing to do with your subject matter, so please know I will not be put out if you remove it.

        Like

      • No worries. I’ll keep it in mind. Thanks!

        Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        That sounds like a “thanks, but no thanks” – never mind. Just check the sods out before you give them any money. 🙂

        Like

      • Well… pretty much. One thing at a time. There are alarmists on all sides and there’s a lot to sift through.

        Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        Actually I haven’t seen any alarmism from the skeptical side, and I’ve been deep in there for years. That site is in part written by scientists – real ones who aren’t shy of showing their data. That’s why I like it. It’s down to earth and blinkers off. It was a massive breath of fresh air to find it – I had thought the world was going nuts! 😀

        Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        BTW, I wasn’t telling you to go there, I was letting you know where I got my facts from in answer to your “Hmm. I’ll do some digging on them, then.” I don’t care one way or the other. Lots of people don’t like to look into this subject.

        Liked by 1 person

      • True 🙂 — that’s an assumption I made on what you meant. I do plan to look into what the options are to support the environment or world peace, just because this conversation has made me curious. Maybe the Red Cross, for example.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

        Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        So pleased I cleared that up – I don’t want us falling out! 🙂

        Like

      • I wasn’t worried about that at all 🙂

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

        Like

What do you think?

