Climate Control

Posted: May 31, 2014 by writingsprint in Science fiction
Tags: , , , ,

thunderstorm

The Bureau of Weather Control was a secret branch of the Department of Citizen Psychology—itself a secret department—tasked to manipulate people’s moods through subtle control of the weather.

Jami walked into the Director’s office. He sat on the floor in a meditation posture. A sun lamp glowed soft light on his face. The sound of gentle rain filled the room. Jami’s sense of mission and purpose began to melt. She bit the inside of her mouth and stated, “Karl, we have a problem. A serious problem.”

Karl opened his eyes. “Jami, can’t you see this is my relaxation time?”

Jami held up the weather predictions for election day. “Thunderstorms,” she said.

Karl sat up. He shut off the rain and pointed the sun lamp away from him. “How is this possible? We tasked a hundred butterflies around the world to flap their wings and cause sunshine on those days.”

“As near as we can tell, three of the butterflies were caught in butterfly nets before they could finish flapping.”

Karl shook his head. “I hate chaos theory.”

“Karl, I’m serious!” She turned up the sun lamp to burning intensity to wake him up.

Karl shut it off. “All right! You have my attention! Spill it.”

“Extreme levels of proton imbalance. Atmosphere pressure reverb that we haven’t seen in decades…”

“In English!”

“There will be riots.”

Karl stared at her. “What?”

“The economy, the racism, the politicking… this storm is going to feel like a splash of ice water. Everything we’ve done for the past decade to soften people up is going to be washed out when the storm hits. It’ll feel like stepping from a cozy blanket into a raw blast of winter. Anyone with cybernetic implants will experience extreme pain and be subject to violent mood swings.” That meant almost everybody.

Karl said, “We need to lock down the facility. We need a curfew one hour before the storm and extra police on the streets.”

Jami stared at him. “Is that all?”

“What else is there?”

“We’re going to have an epidemic of suicides and mass murders! We have to warn people!”

“No.”

Jami’s wondered if he was playing some kind of game. Karl did that sometimes to see what people were really thinking. “Why not?”

“We need to use it to our advantage. If what you’re saying is true, there’s nothing we can do to stop this from happening. We have to make sure the right people die.”

“That’s murder,” Jami whispered.

“It’s control. It’s what we do,” Karl said.

This post was inspired by the prompt “Climate Control” from The Daily Post. Answering the post’s real question, yes, I do believe weather affects people’s moods. On a beautiful day I want to go run in the sun, and on a dreary day I want to sit inside and watch old movies with my feet up. My favorite month is probably May and my least favorite month is November, for just that reason.

Photo credit: “Thunderstorm” by Kuster & Wildhaber Photography at Flickr
Photo is unmodified
Shared under Creative Commons license

Comments
  1. A.D. Everard says:

    I love stormy days. Grey days when the sky is really dark. I love sunshine days, too, but there is something special in stormy days. They power dramatic scenes marvellously. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love lightning storms. Great, big, spectacular, loud ones.

    Like

  3. Kay Camden says:

    I like the snappy dialogue in this one.

    And I agree about the weather affecting mood. But I think we’re all wired differently. Give me overcast and misty over hot, bright sun any day! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! I hadn’t thought about the dialogue. I’ve been so focused on plotting and scene structure that I forgot about how much dialogue can set mood. Thanks for the reminder.

      Overcast and misty, how dramatic 🙂 ! I used to call those “Iceland days” when I was a kid, because it was what I imagined it looked like.

      Like

What do you think?

