Trusting Intuition, the Adventure Within.

Posted: May 1, 2014 by writingsprint in Uncategorized

I love this post eighteen different ways. The best part of writing (for me) is when the creativity is flowing like a river. Sometimes, to do that, you need to let go of your expectations and see where it takes you. As much as I love those creative moments, and I can see angles with the best of them, I can also be a very rigid rein-holder. I think I know who the characters are and where they want to go, when in reality there’s another side to them that I didn’t pick up. Allyson reminds us that the payoff for letting your intuition run wild might not just be a scene: it could be an epic.

Bloodstone Sci Fi

B41

Characters can have leeway. For me, when a character pulls his own way, that’s a sign that I’m going to end up with so much more than I planned to – It first happened for me way back at the beginning when I was still learning how to string a few words together and make them mean something – I let a minor character (a humble shopkeeper) ramble on and he changed the entire plot, the whole book, brought in a war, threw in some seers, created the Chiddran civilization and enabled my lead villain to become something a mite more noble by giving him a princely crown, and thus created the Khekarian series.

That’s quite a feat for one lowly and undisciplined character meant to appear only once and solely because I needed someone to stand behind a counter.

Needless to say, such unexpected creation proved to be a…

View original post 119 more words

Comments
  1. A.D. Everard says:

    Hi Matt. I love your words here, especially about letting go of expectations. So true. It’s exciting. It’s scary. It’s worth it.

    My like here is for your words. Cheer! 😀

    Like

What do you think?

