My Two Favorite Words in Writing

Posted: February 25, 2014 by writingsprint in Essay
Tags: , , , , , , ,

that's all folksMy two favorite words in writing are “the end.” I like starting a new project, once I know what I’m doing and where it’s headed. Working on it is fun, too. That’s the meat of the job, and if you don’t like working on it, you’ll never get to the end. But more than starting and more than working, I love finishing. Finishing means you can point to it and say “I did that.” You can share it with your friends. You can look at it and remember how you grew as it came together.

All this is a long way of saying that the rewrite I’ve been working on is done. Starting it was fun. I can’t tell you how scared I was to dust off the file and take a walk through those characters’ souls again. I was shaking, no kidding. I have planning skills and patience now that I didn’t have when I first wrote it that helped a lot.

Working on it was fun, too. I embraced that there would always be one more thing to do. I’ve learned to love playing with the twists and turns that it takes to make it happen. Those dead-ends aren’t setbacks, they’re opportunities to let the characters talk to you and tell you what the story really needs to be.

Tonight, though, figuratively speaking, I wrote the words “the end.” The big rocks are in place and the other pieces I wanted to polish are as shiny as I can make them. Any changes that happen now will be minor tweaks or of the “oh my God how the hell did I miss that” variety, but purposeful, planned editing is now done. I “killed a few darlings” along the way, cutting it down by about 20 pages, or about 10% of the story. I used the find/replace function of MS Word more times than I’d care to admit.

More importantly, the hero grew more mature, healed some scars, and gained some new ones. His girlfriend went from damsel in distress to certified badass. The villain went from being wired for wrong to jumping into the deep end of the evil pool with both feet because she felt it was the right thing to do—and I know a lot of people who would have jumped with her.

In short, it’s a better story than when I started, and I hope to have it ready for you soon. Time to take a look at copyright.gov, Amazon.com, and some other web sites to work on the publishing end of it.

Comments
  1. A.D. Everard says:

    I love it when a story ends up better than expected. That’s really exciting. Congrats. 😀

    Like

What do you think?

