Personal Touch

Posted: February 15, 2014 by writingsprint in Fantasy, Lost Angel
Tags: , , , , , ,

turkey hoagieAngelina said, “We’re practicing for a play.” The man with the newspaper said thank you and moved on.

Daniel said, “I’m going to show you something.” He played a string of notes on his flute.

They floated about 300 miles above the Earth. To her right, Angelina saw the International Space Station. It was over Australia now, and it was night. Daniel and Angelina’s wings glowed in the light of the stars. Daniel swept his hand below them and lifted it up towards China.

Angelina could see dots like fireflies flying from city to city. There were dozens of them. Hundreds. They flew almost too fast for her to see. Angelina realized that if she wanted to, she could fly as fast as any of them. “Are those angels?” she asked.

“Every last one. Every time they land, they’re helping someone else, in some small way. I’d say each of them is helping someone new every second of every day.”

“That’s a lot of people,” she admitted. “My turn.” Angelina clapped her hands.

They were back on Earth. Back in the park, in fact. Daniel wobbled on his feet as he got his bearings. “How did you know how to do that?” he asked.

“The same way I didn’t panic when you pulled us around the world. I went with it.”

“Smart girl.” Angelina started walking, following the path around the park. Daniel followed her. The park was the same as it always was at this time of day. Business people were heading home from work and students were either studying or catching a quick jog before their next class.

“Are we going anywhere?” Daniel asked.

“Isn’t patience supposed to be a virtue?” she asked.

“Just curious,” he said, properly chastised.

At a sandwich shop across the street, Angelina bought a turkey hoagie, bag of chips and a bottle of water. She walked over to a homeless person sitting at the edge of the park.

“Hi Barney,” she said. She gave him the food.

“Miss Angelina! Oh, you didn’t have to do that.”

“Pshaw. You know me. I didn’t see you at the food bank, so I thought I’d check up on you.”

“I had to go see the doctor. It’s a long walk to the free clinic.”

“You doing okay?”

“Just a little cough. They give me some antibiotics.”

“Okay. Get better. I’ll see you at the food bank.”

He held her hand. “God bless you.” He looked at Daniel. “Is this your friend?”

“Sort of.”

“It’s a pleasure,” Daniel said.

“Very nice to meet you,” Barney said.

Angelina and Daniel started walking again. “So?” Daniel asked. “In the time that took you could have helped hundreds of people. You could nudge people toward doing the right thing, be that quiet voice that reminds their conscience, helped them in other ways.”

“Barney needs a friend. A social worker is helping him get back on his feet. He needs someone to smile at him, look him in the eye, and treat him with dignity. A little nudge isn’t going to give him that.”

“You could nudge someone else to do it.”

“He doesn’t need a nudge. He needs a person.” Angelina wanted to add ‘you dumbass’ but she didn’t think it would help her make her point.

I really didn’t want to make this thing so preachy, but given the issues that are involved, this is where it’s going. I’m trying to keep it weird and fun, so I hope that’s working.

Comments
  1. A.D. Everard says:

    I like the balance. On one side, I can understand Daniel and the type of help he knows Angelina can give to so many. On the other, I can see how Angelina can give stronger and more direct help, even though the cost of that is that she helps fewer people.

    It’s a good balance because one side doesn’t outweigh the other, one isn’t “better” necessarily, just different.

    There’s an interesting other layer here, too, in that Angelina’s way of helping let’s the other person know that she’s doing it (so she “owns” the deed), whereas Daniel’s way allows the person to make a decision based on the prompt he gives them (allowing them to “own” the deed). So, while her way on the surface looks like more and gives strength to the body, his way is more encouraging and gives strength to the soul.

    That might just be the writer in me, seeing chances and looking at possibilities. Please don’t mind me saying what I see. 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t mind at all, HELL NO I don’t mind! I love your insights. You’re exactly right on the difference between them. This is the “nice” version of where the story could go. I’m still spinning the “dark” version in my head. I may just jump off the cliff and see what my creativity comes up with. Daniel doesn’t actually seem dark, just focused on his own priorities, so as he’s written now I don’t see “dark” flying. He could show her the darker side of things, places where you can’t just buy someone a sandwich and solve their problems.

      Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        Yeah, I like that. It would take a bit of seeing before Angelina understand where Daniel is coming from. What she’s doing is actually taking the easy route.

        I like how you’re still working on how a dark version would go. And I suspect that leaping off the cliff will supply some surprises. 🙂 Always fun.

        Like

What do you think?

