Yoruba African Orishas™

Posted: September 20, 2013 by writingsprint in Uncategorized

Thought the artwork here was beautiful. Great inspiration for fantasy authors!

Noire3000studios's Blog

Throughout my formal education from elementary up through college I never heard tale of African deities. A little over a month ago I began to research online to find information in regards to the gods & goddesses of Africa. To my surprise there were many, however the ones that stood out the most were the deities of Nigeria and Benin, West Africa which they referred to as ORISHAS.

This entire belief in the Orishas was directly linked to the Yoruba of the Ifa Tradition. Immediately I became inspired to do a photo series on each of the Orishas that I had recently discovered. I later learned that nothing of this magnitude had ever been done before, so it came as quite a surprise when the project went completely viral overnight. As soon as I uploaded them on Facebook they took off like wildfire through dry fields of grass and…

View original post 449 more words

What do you think?

