Work in Progress

Posted: August 24, 2013 by writingsprint in Choices
Tags: , , , , , , ,

dancersJeana sat down next to her friend Adri. Adri was second principal, second only to Jeana in the company. She was air to Jeana’s fire. Rumor had it there were butterflies and doves on Corellia that were jealous of her grace. Friends had said the two of them dancing together could make angels cry.

“It’s not fair, it’s not fair, it’s not fair,” Jeana hissed.

“You know you she just set you up for it, right?” Adri asked.

“Yeah, I know. What was I supposed to do? She was lying.”

“You’re always picking fights—”

“I am not.”

“You’re always winning fights.”

“What’s wrong with that?”

Adri pointed at her with her pencil. “So she made you mad. You knew you were right. Let her lie and prove her wrong again. You have to learn to fight by not fighting.”

Jeana felt like she was talking to her mother. In a good way. You always heard the same things when you talked to smart people. “How’d you learn so much about fighting?”

“Girl, I’ve been dancing since I could walk.” It was true. She had the pictures to prove it. “Sometimes, dancing is fighting.”

It was probably why they got along so well. “You’re good, Adri.”

“I have my good days.”

The two of them watched the other dancers taking direction. Jeana’s eyes flicked over to the pencil in Adri’s hands. It moved on careful, short strokes. “What do you have there?” Jeana asked.

“I’m drawing the chorus.”

Jeana looked at it. Her jaw fell open. The sheet was covered with five different character studies, all of them flawless. Adri could draw like she danced. In all the years she had known her, Adri had never told her that she drew. Not one picture hung on the wall at her house. “You never told me you draw!”

“Yup.” She flipped to the previous page. “Here’s you.”

They were different stages of the two pieces Jeana had danced, first before Miss Tallus had yelled at her, then after. Jeana saw wonder, peace, fun, and light, then power, fire, anger, and thunder. Jeana felt awe. She said, “You drew my soul. Why didn’t you tell me you could draw?”

“Because it’s only for me. Why didn’t you tell me you could fight?”

Jeana stared at her. Deep down, she wasn’t surprised. If Adri was drawing people’s souls, she probably already had imagined a lightsaber in Jeana’s hands a long time ago. No point in mincing words about it. “I liked keeping it separate.”

“I figured if I’d call you on it, the least I could do is show you that I draw.”

“Fair enough.” As they watched the dancers, Jeana knew there was one last point they had to lay out to one another. The two of them would be competing for the lead in the company’s recital. “It’s coming down to the two of us again.”

“Wouldn’t have it any other way,” Adri said. They fist-bumped each other.

This is part of the first stage of editing on the story “Choices.” Since Adri plays such a pivotal role at the end of the story, I need to introduce her at the start of the story. If you imagine a sketch artist doodling interesting faces as they walk by, you have an idea of what it was like writing this scene. I knew Jeana had fire, so I wanted to complement her with Adri, hence Adri’s maturity, wisdom and artistic side.

What do you think?

