Broken Echoes in Danville Hospital

Posted: August 15, 2013 by writingsprint in Fantasy
Tags: , , ,

Shh...

Shh…

Paint peeled off the walls and flaked off the ceiling. It gathered in layered piles of paint and dust, carpeting over a chipped tile floor. Corroded steel doors dotted the hallway. Each had the little window at eye level to let the nurses look inside. Wind blew down the hall. I had already shivered before it got to me.

We reached the panopticon. Like spokes off a wheel, six corridors ran away from us. Six corridors, 20 cells each, two floors. 240 patients total. Over seven hundred had lived her during its worst days.

I nodded to Karen. She unslung her equipment. She had the first tripod snapped together before I’d started talking. “Set up cameras looking down each hallway, here and at the other end.”

“We only have twelve stationary cameras.”

“Plus one for each team member. We’ll have to be mobile.”

Risky, but it didn’t faze her. Karen had seen me in cowboy mode before. “That’ll make for jumpy footage but we can edit that.”

I set up the second camera over a pitted part of the floor. Water damage. I could see a hole in the ceiling above us, and past that, the sky. The pipe had run dry a long time ago, and the weather should be clear tonight.

The sky was getting darker. We had to hurry. Karen set up camera three while I worked on camera four.

“Don’t you want to put any in the treatment rooms? They said there was a lot of activity in there.”

“I’m going to camp in there.”

Karen was a pro. She gave me a look that she normally gave me when we got a reading. “What?” I asked.

“We never camp in hot spots. It disturbs the readings.”

“One camera. Minimal EMF. It should be fine. This investigation could put us on the map, Karen.”

“Two other teams ran out of this place before they finished their investigations. Weird stuff is going on. We need to be careful.”

“I need to do this on my own. I need to face this. How will it look if I don’t?”

Karen snapped camera five into place so hard that I thought she’d break the mount. “Maybe like we’re a team. You’ve been kissing ass with those network shits all week.”

“It’s not like that.”

“The hell it isn’t! Put us on the map? It’s going to put you on the map.”

Our walkie talkies crackled. I heard our intern’s shaky teenage voice say, “Uh, guys, you know we can all hear you, right?”

Tonight’s post is brought to you by the prompt “Peeling Paint” from Inspiration Monday at Be Kind Rewrite.

Comments
  1. Stephanie says:

    Haha. Fascinating little glimpse into the paranormal/reality TV world. Especially the thought of interning for ghost hunters…like, do they make him do all the dirty work? “Who’s gonna go down the scary hallway?” “Make the intern do it!”

    Like

What do you think?

