Time to Think Things Through

Posted: July 3, 2012 by writingsprint in Health, Triathlon
Tags: , , , ,

Month 2, Week 4
Tuesday: long run (17 minutes)

I know, 17 minutes isn’t a very long run, but the fourth week of the month is for rest and recovery. I put my trust in the training program, put in 17 minutes, plus extra time for warmup and cooldown, and went home.

One of my favorite moments in the book Fahrenheit 451 is when Montag has escaped the authorities and is drifting down the river, away from the city. He feels peace, and finally feels that he has time to think and sort things out.

This is a good time for me to think about other things I can do to prepare myself mentally for the race. Staying dedicated and getting the workouts in is going to be the big one. My work schedule doesn’t always cooperate, so I need to fit exercise in, and still challenge myself when it’s time to work out hard. This week’s a good example. The pool’s closed tomorrow for the 4th of July. I really should have made it there tonight, but didn’t, so now I have to get lap time in on Thursday and Friday before we head down to Washington DC for the weekend. There won’t be any swimming, biking or running while I’m there, but there’ll be a few miles of walking. We get home late on Sunday, but there might be enough time to hit the pool. If not, definitely on Monday the 9th. Two days after that is my next session with the trainer, and hoo boy, I’d better be ready.

Next, I add to make sure I have warmups, cooldowns, and I stretch daily. I’ve always paid lip service to these. Ah, who needs ’em? I can handle it. What’s the big deal? Yeah, right. Work out daily and start piling on the miles. You’ll feel the difference.

On a more fun note, I’ll close with nutrition. I set up a mini salad bar in my refrigerator, using small tupperwares of tomatoes, corn, mushrooms, beets, carrots, cheese, egg, cucumber, and anything else I can think of that would want to throw into a salad. After a week and a half of having it for dinner every night, though, anyone would get bored. My next move is going to be stir fry and other cooked vegetable dishes.

What do you think?

