Put working out on the to-do list

Posted: July 1, 2012 by writingsprint in Health, Triathlon
Tags: , , , ,

Month 2, Week 4
Sunday: Medium swim (17 minutes), short run (17 minutes)

Week 4 is the rest & recovery week of each given month of the training program I found online. It’s less intense than week 3; week 1 of the following month starts right back up where I left off. Since I just kicked the intensity of the swimming workouts up a notch, I think I’m in luck with the timing.

There were a couple of errands to do today: get an oil change at Jiffy Lube; grocery shopping; swim / run / weights; make dinner; fold laundry. I won’t say that grocery shopping at Wegman’s made the running of the bulls look like a tea party, but the store was busy. I also got lost twice trying to do a side errand.

I made it to the gym about an hour before they closed. The two roped-off swim lanes were taken with a swim teacher and her student, and the third lane was taken by a gentleman doing slow breaststroke laps. I took the fourth lane. For medium swim day, I did intervals that went back and forth between 1 hard lap and a series of laps on the kick board, and wrapped up with a couple of laps of freestyle. The good news is, I finished the seventeen minutes before I knew it. On the flip side, I know I need more work. I’m not used to swimming hard. If I get tired while I’m running, I know how to throttle back and conserve my energy, but if I get tired while I’m swimming, I’m afraid I’ll be in twenty feet of water on race day heading for where the minnows live.

Sigh… it’s hard enough to get in a good workout without fear of drowning. Someone once told me that the key is to keep good form, even when you’re tired. And fear? I guess I’ll have to learn to deal with that, until I overcome it.

The run went fine, and I was exhausted by the time I made it home. I lifted weights at home while watching Burn Notice, and wrapped up today’s workout.

Tomorrow is rest day. Whew.

What do you think?

