That’s One

Posted: November 8, 2011 by writingsprint in Fun Stuff, My two cents, postaday2011, postaweek2011
Tags: , ,

Stack of booksRecently I was going through my book shelf and I put all the books I haven’t read yet in one place. Some people are pack rats for music, some for shoes, some even for office supplies. With me, it’s books. I realized that I had 33 books, ranging from the sublime to the ridiculous, that I had put on my list to read someday. There are children’s books, classics, graphic novels, teen novels, how-to’s, inspirational stories, historical adventure, ghost stories, mysteries, annnd… I think that covers it.

I realized that if I don’t start now, I’ll never get there. Challenge accepted!

The plan is to read one book a month for the next 33 months. I put my foot on the gas about two weeks ago and just finished Under the Dome by Stephen King. Next up, Roving Mars by Steve Squyres.

Titles from the list include, in no particular order:

Three Cups of Tea
Touching the Void
Endurance
Roving Mars
Spooky Maryland
The Journals of Lewis and Clark
Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook
Forbidden Knowledge
Batman Handbook
The Natural Navigator
I Feel Great and You Can Too
Creating a Life Worth Living
I’ve Got Your Back
Henry Reed books (2)
The Playful Brain
No Plot, No Problem
On Writing Well
Fearless Creating
Making Money Freelance Writing
Room to Write
The Right to Write
Writing Science Fiction
Under the Dome
Runny Babbit
By Royal Command
Kill Shakespeare
Worlds That Weren’t
Haunts
The Iliad
Slipknot
Run Silent, Run Deep
Countdown
A Game of Lies

Wish me luck!

Comments
  1. Adam says:

    My biggest problem with my TBR stack is that it never gets too small. I’ve got about 25 books on the stack now, but every time I get the stack down to about 10-15 books I go out and buy more books (as I did today to get the stack back up to where it is).

    I think I would be horribly upset if I ever got my stack down to nothing.

    Like

    • writingsprint says:

      As long as that’s you’re plan, you’re in good shape. I’ve never had a plan. First it was a few books, then it was a lot of books, then I had them scattered across so many bookshelves I never saw how many there were. I don’t think having a stack of “zero” would bother me. All I’d have to do is walk into a Barnes & Noble and I could find another one. I also have a few bookwormy friends who are always ready with a recommendation :).

      Like

What do you think?

