Scene from a Hospital Room: Jenny

Posted: September 30, 2011 by writingsprint in postaday2011, postaweek2011, Writing
Tags: , ,

Who is this? It’s not mommy or daddy, or grandma or grandpa. Um… it isn’t the ladies who wear white and smell funny. I don’t know who he is. He looks scared or something. I wonder what he’s going to do.

Now he’s talking… his voice sounds quiet, kind of like how mommy and daddy talk to me. He seems nice. Wait, there’s mommy and daddy, I see them over there. Mommy’s talking to grandma and grandpa, and daddy’s looking at me. Hi mommy! Hi daddy!

Well, I’m really warm and cozy here, and everything seems okay. I think I’ll go back to sleep.

This scene is part of Voice Week from Be Kind Rewrite. Check it out!

Comments
  1. […] Read the rest: Scene from a Hospital Room: Jenny « The Daily 400. […]

    Like

  2. Sweet! Great job with the questioning, ADORABLE stream of consciousness. Excellent way to end an excellent series!

    Like

  3. writingsprint says:

    Thank you! And more than I can say, thank you for this exercise. I learned a lot and gained some incredible perspectives. You brought a lot of people together for something good — think about what a wonderful thing that is!

    Like

  4. Mike says:

    A wonderful way to end end a delightful series of stories.
    The voice of the star of the show the new born baby. I’ve often wondered what goes through the minds of new born babies as they try to make sense of the world – now I know.
    Thank you for 5 great reads this week.
    I look forward to reading more of your work in the future.

    Like

  5. scribbla says:

    Hehehe… say no more. The newest voice, the one we should all pay attention to.
    It has been a fantastic week reading your story. Thank you.

    Like

  6. writingsprint says:

    Thank you for yours, too!

    What really happened was more amazing. She opened her eyes and was staring at me, which is no surprise, because she had no clue who I was. I was afraid she’d cry, so I started talking softly about how she was safe, that I was her uncle, that her mom and dad were nearby, and she was in a room filled with people who loved her. So, if I were her, I would just go back to sleep. She nodded just slightly and closed her eyes again. Swear to God, true story.

    Like

  7. writingsprint says:

    Thanks Billie Jo!

    Like

  8. lynnette-net says:

    Delightful! So sweet and adorable! I love babies and children because they are so innocent and adventurous!

    Like

What do you think?

