Book of Days

Posted: September 25, 2011 by writingsprint in postaday2011, postaweek2011, Weird, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

“I burned it all. Everything,” Evelyn sobbed. Every scrap of her life. Childhood. School. College. Ten years of graduate study. The love of her life. All of it was vanishing as the flames licked the paper and turned it into ash.

The Devil stared at her. “You… what?”

“What?” Evelyn asked. She could barely remember anything now, not even the past two days. “Do I know you?”

“I needed that book!” he screeched. He grabbed her shoulders and shook her. “Do you know what you’ve done?”

Evelyn grabbed his beautiful raven locks and pulled them hard. He let go and staggered back. “Oh. Oh, I hate people. I hate you!”

“I don’t know what your problem is, mister, but get lost before I call the cops.” Bits of ash fluttered past her. Evelyn squeezed up her nose. Why couldn’t people burn cedar, or other things that smelled better. She caught some words on a scrap that floated by…she thought it was ‘blue candlelight.’ It tickled her memory. It made her feel like smiling. She thought she saw someone’s face.

‘Psycho Jesus’ suddenly looked at her. “Wait, wait…,” he said. “Tell me what you’re thinking.”

The face vanished in a burning, searing wisp, half fire, half her anger. “I’m thinking you really need to walk. Now.”

He threw up his trembling hands in front of his face, moaned again, and walked away. It must have been her imagination but it looked like little smoke puffs came off his feet. Evelyn smirked. What a fool. As she turned back to the urn, she wondered why someone would burn such an elaborate thing in the middle of nowhere. For some reason, she had no idea, and it didn’t bother her.

This post was inspired by a prompt from Inspiration Monday at Be Kind Rewrite. The photo was taken from the Tucson Today Photo Gallery.

Comments
  1. lynnette-net says:

    This is awesome! Good job! 🙂 Love it and love your writing in general!

    Like

    • writingsprint says:

      Hi Lynnette! Thank you! Actually, this post and “Raindrops on the Roof” are good examples of what we talked about before: “just writing” and seeing what happens. I loved the prompt from BeKindRewrite but didn’t have a clue what to do with it. I knew that she’d burned a book and was sad about it, but I didn’t know why as I started typing. As I reached the end of the first sentence I decided to let myself off the hook and not force the scene to explain everything. I wouldn’t say what the book was or why she did it. I threw the devil in because he’s a good, generic, flexible villain, and it worked out :D.

      Like

      • lynnette-net says:

        Sorry for replying so late! Yups, I guess its just to write and see what happens… you know those kind of inspiration flows? One good way of trying to get ideas is to start with a blank paper with an idea and start filling it up… But you did a good job in that! OH MY, A FANTASTIC ONE.

        Like

  2. I think this one is over my head. Unless she’s just completely insane. Either way, I was glued to the screen.

    Like

    • writingsprint says:

      Thanks :)! This is the last scene in a story I haven’t written yet. I decided to give sense and continuity the day off.

      She’s just lost her memory, gently. The book was all her memories, including how to find someone the Devil wanted to get his hands on, whom she loved. Destroying them was the only way to make sure he was safe. She hasn’t realized she has amnesia yet, but even once she does, she’ll know there was something right about it.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

  3. Yeah I REALLY enjoyed this, and your Voiceweek posts were beautiful (although that may just be the father in me remembering my two little girls…)

    Like

What do you think?

