What person, real or fictional, would you want to share a foxhole with?

Posted: September 21, 2011 by writingsprint in postaday2011, postaweek2011
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comprende?

“The pen’s mightier than the sword, eh?”

I handed him mine. “That’s what they say.”

He looked at it. Suddenly the enemy came barreling around the corner. I cowered. The soldier reacted on instinct, driving the Bic through the enemy trooper’s jugular vein. Blood spurted out far enough to hit me, let alone my new friend. I’d been scribbling notes with that pen five minutes ago.

The enemy crumpled, and the soldier pulled the pen out with a warm splat sound as
the body fell at his feet. He handed the pen back to me. “I guess it works.”

Real, I would have to say I would share a foxhole with my older brother, who spent nearly 20 years in the army. He’s brave, strong, cunning, resourceful, dogged, determined, tough, and trained. Besides knowing how to fire a rifle, operate a tank, wield a knife, and live off the land, he’s also a deep water scuba diver, trained nurse, and knows his way around car mechanics, home plumbing and electronics. Finally, he could crack a joke about ripping out someone’s throat that would make Gandhi laugh until he was in tears. He’s MacGyver with an automatic rifle and a killer instinct.

He also knows to aim for the head when shooting at zombies.

Fictional, my choice would be Gunnery Sergeant Tom Highway, Clint Eastwood’s character in Heartbreak Ridge. Highway is a career marine, and while he has problems dealing with authority, drinks too much, and has issues with having and keeping relationships, he’s as tough as Chesty Puller, and he could whip anyone into fighting shape, even a schlub like me.

This was WordPress’s prompt #254.

What do you think?

