“If you controlled the weather, what would it be like outside today?”

Posted: August 21, 2011 by writingsprint in postaday2011, postaweek2011
Tags: , , ,

LightningA full-on, heat-shattering, batten down the hatches thunderstorm. I don’t know why I love them so much. Thunderstorms are violent, destructive, and in addition to buckets of rain and strong wind, you have arcs of electricity at about 36,000 degrees Fahrenheit flying around.

What’s there not to like?

I guess somewhere along the line I realized that you couldn’t do anything about the weather, and you might as well enjoy the ride. Thunderstorms have built-in fireworks. You never know when you’re going to see a lightning flash, so you’re always on the edge of your seat. Thunderstorms are quick, too, unlike March rain storms that go on all day, where everything feels wet and dreary.

Yup. On the hottest day of the year, give me a storm that turns the sky a weird color just before it hits, like green or red.

On the flip side: I liked thunderstorms a lot less when we had our dog. I still liked the storms, but the poor thing just couldn’t handle them. She would paw at us, begging us to take her away from the storm or just do something, anything to make it stop. When comfort wasn’t enough, she would start scratching things at random.

One night I took her downstairs to a room where she couldn’t scratch anything that would be damaged, and sat up with her until the storm passed. That was half compassion, half making sure she didn’t get creative and damage anything that I thought was strong enough to resist her scratching. I’ll never forget, 3:00 in the morning, she cocked her head to the side like she was listening for something. I realized we hadn’t heard a thunderclap in about fifteen minutes. Whump! She sat down. Whump! She lay down. In a minute she went to sleep, and a couple of minutes after that, I did too.

What do you think?

