You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry

Posted: August 16, 2011 by writingsprint in My two cents, postaday2011, postaweek2011
Tags: , , ,

“Can anger be constructive?”

You wouldn't like me when I'm angry.


Yes. Anger is fuel. It’s a response to an intolerable situation. Fuel detonated with no direction is just an explosion. Fuel detonated and directed can send a rocket to the moon. Sometimes it’s the only way to communicate what you’re really saying, to make yourself heard, or to get something done. Sometimes, if you’re not angry, people don’t know how important what you’re saying is, or don’t care.

Without going into detail, let’s just say that a few years ago I lost it with someone. I yelled at him. I cleared the room. About ten seconds later, he said his piece, and I said mine, more calmly this time. A few moments after that I apologized to him for losing it, because it was inappropriate for an adult conversation.

I apologized later to the two other people who’d been there. One said it was all right, and the other grinned and said, “No, that was fine. Sometimes that’s the only way to get through to people.”

The funny part is, I got along much better with the guy I yelled at after that. I also learned to let my anger show in small doses. It’s like opening a pressure valve when the needle goes to red, or a dog that growls at you as a warning. The pressure isn’t gone, but it’s been released for a while. The dog hasn’t bitten anyone, yet, but it will if it’s pushed too far.

What do you think?

