Abba Dabba Doo

Posted: July 30, 2011 by writingsprint in My two cents, postaday2011, postaweek2011, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Stella!

"STELLLLLAAAAAAA!!!!!!!"

So I’m sitting here blogging while my wife watches “Mamma Mia,” and random thoughts go through my head.

What’s exactly is it that’s romantic about a man yelling up at the woman he loves, whether it’s Stanley Kowalski in A Streetcar Named Desire, Pierce Brosnan in Mamma Mia, or Jeff Bridges in The Mirror Has Two Faces? Leonardo DiCaprio probably yelled “Rose” over a dozen times in Titanic, and it’s probably happened in dozens of other movies and plays I haven’t seen. I guess it’s the big, mad, public demonstration o’love. Do women like it when they drive us madly in love with them? Or is it just the poetic image of it that’s romantic? In real life, isn’t a guy acting madly just embarrassing?

EDIT: My wife has reminded me that this is a tradition that goes back to Romeo and Juliet. I would guess that good ol’ Bill Shakespeare invented it. Another example is John Cusack with the boombox in Say Anything

What do you think?

