Where would you go? (Part 2 of 3)

Posted: July 12, 2011 by writingsprint in postaday2011, postaweek2011, Writing
Tags: , ,

If you wanted to spend four months just playing, where would you go? I’ll tell you where I’d go: Las Vegas!

What happens in Vegas...

What happens in Vegas...

In the second part of Drink, Play, F@#k, the main character goes to Vegas to gamble. When he isn’t gambling, he’s recharging his batteries by golfing, and along the way, he starts to pace himself.

Las Vegas is an amusement park for adults. I remember the first time I looked out at the strip from my room at the Bellagio. The fountain show was running. Past that, the huge electronic billboards showed a fizzing bottle of champagne, then flash pictures of sexy people gyrating to a dance beat. I turned to my fiancee and said, “This is good.” Where else can you watch angels get you a bottle of wine, go skydiving indoors, or watch other people fly?

The one difference I would write into the story is volleyball. Golf’s not my game. But volleyball, that’s the closest that I’ve ever felt to flying. Nothing compares to passing a hard driven spike or digging out a hit that you think you’ll never get to. And I’m not even good at it. Hang by the pool in the morning; play volleyball in the afternoon; gamble, see a show or party at night. That’s what fun sounds like to me.

What do you think?

