I can’t be happy if you aren’t

Posted: July 8, 2011 by writingsprint in postaday2011, postaweek2011, Writing
Tags: , , ,

I haven’t written anything romantic in a while. I’m not good at it. Tonight will probably prove that to you. But you know what, I need the exercise. 

Would a hug help?

Would a hug help?

Tim stepped off the train in Aberdeen and made his way out to the main concourse. Fiona was first in line behind the velvet rope waiting for the arriving passengers. She spotted him and waved. He smiled, embarrassed. She wore the UCLA sweatshirt that he sent her years ago, which stood out like nobody’s business in Scotland. Fiona looked beautiful, tired, and sad. Her father had died two days ago, and her tears had brought Tim across the Atlantic.

They hugged each other, and neither of them said anything. The silence said it all. Tim just wanted to comfort her with his arms, and Fiona was taking it in. She settled her head on his shoulder and made herself at home. Her hair smelled like honey shampoo and rain. Fiona sighed, and Tim gently rubbed her back, and kissed her hair.

Fiona pulled back and rested her forehead on his. “I cannot believe you’re here.”

“What did I tell you? What did I say?”

She smiled. “‘It’s only airfare’ or ‘I’ll see you soon.'”

“How about ‘I can’t be happy if you aren’t’? Or, ‘I need to know you’re okay.'”

Fiona ducked her eyes. Her chin wrinkled up. She covered her mouth, and took a second to get her composure back. “You said that too, didn’t you?”

What do you think?

